Skip to content

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

December 18, 2008

It is impossible for me to 10 minutes without thinking about food. Seriously. I love food.

Our first home cooked meals in the new house are behind us. Chris made spaghetti with ground turkey and turkey keilbasa on Tuesday night. On Wednesday night, I make a chicken enchilada casserole. See, I was craving chicken enchiladas, but didn’t want to take the time to roll them, or cook the chicken for that matter. So I cheated.

I used this recipe from RecipeZaar, and instead of using 3-4 chicken breasts, I bought a rotisserie chicken from the store. I picked all the meat off of the chicken, shredded it and it worked out just fine. I also used two cans Cream of Chicken instead of a Cream of Mushroom. I used two smaller casserole dishes and froze one for later use. We both really loved it and will definitely be making it again!

Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe #42543
This recipe appears by special request. Creamy chicken and
green chilies I use the regular sized tortillas.. not the large
ones.I overlap the tortillas to make the layer. I make it up in an
oblong serving dish, I think it is about a 9 1/2 inch by 11 inch
pan. But any size you would put 1 full cake mix into will work
well . I love this recipe.
by TammieV


1½ hours 30 min prep
SERVES 6 -8
3-4 chicken breasts (or 6 Halves)
1 (10 ounce) can cream of mushroom soup
1 (10 ounce) can cream of chicken soup
1 (8 ounce) can diced green chilies (hot or mild, or a small can
of each)
1 (10 ounce) package cheddar cheese, grated
1 small onion, diced
oregano
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt
12 corn tortillas
16 ounces sour cream
1. Place Chicken in large saucepan and cover with water.
2. Sprinkle in a handful of oregano,add garlic powder and salt.
3. Boil about 20 minutes and shred from bones.
4. Save broth.
5. Mix soups, sour cream & chiles in large pan.
6. Add only enough broth to slightly thin.
7. Re-season as needed.
8. Simmer on low 15 minutes.
9. Add chicken and diced onion.
10. In casserole dish, arrange 6 Tortillas flat across bottom, spoon in 1/2 the sauce, sprinkle 1/2 the cheese.
11. Repeat- Tortillas, sauce and cheese.
12. Bake in 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

