Skip to content

50 books in 2011

February 7, 2011
tags:

I am a member of an online message board community and a few of us have decided to attempt to read 50 books in 2011.  I’ve done so much more reading since acquiring a Nook in May of last year. I take it with me everywhere and it’s amazing how the number of small opportunities to read can really add up.  Sitting around in waiting rooms, waiting at train tracks, during my lunch hour, etc.  I read mostly smutty romance novels because it’s like junk food for my brain so I’m also hoping to branch out from that somewhat.

Here’s a list of books I’ve read so far and what’s in the queue.

+ Highly Recommended
* Recommended, but not my favorite
–  Eh.
# Avoid like the plague

Completed in 2011
1. Labor of Love: A Midwife’s Memoir by Cara Muhlhan +
    Great book! It was really interesting, even for someone like me who has never been pregnant and would certainly never consider a homebirth! One of my favorite free B&N offerings.
2. Glitter Baby by Susan Elizabeth Phillips +
     One of SEP’s earlier novels that’s more contemporary fiction than a romance novel. It was great read with lots of twists and turns.
3. Call me Irresistible by Susan Elizabeth Phillips +
     This one follows the daughter of the main characters from Glitter Baby and is definitely a romance novel.  It was typical SEP in that it was funny, well-written and a total keeper.
4. Ruthless by Anne Stuart *
5. Reckless by Anne Stuart *
6. Breathless by Anne Stuart +
     These 3 are the start of a new series from Anne Stuart about the Rohan family.  They were my first exposure to Stuart and are darker than your typical romance fluff.  All of the series was fine, but it seemed to get better with each book. Breathless was by far my favorite.

7. Highland Protector by Hannah Howell
    This book is part of a large series by Hannah Howell and while it was nice to see a slightly different plot this time, it was still seemed like she just changed a few names and gave it a new title.  Regardless, it’s a typical cheesy novel but was mildly interesting enough that I could finish it.

8. Broken by Kelley Armstrong +
     This is part of Kelley Armstrong’s underworld series that includes werewolves, witches, sorcerers, vampires and all sorts of other paranormal species. Her first book in this series was a free B&N offering not long after I got my Nook and I loved it.  Particularly, I like that it was about a female werewolf because generally paranormal women are witches or vampires, etc. I’ve only read the werewolf books in the series but that may change.  Anyway, this book was great as were the previous installments. It is more along the lines of paranormal fiction than romance novel.  The syphllis spreading zombie was an amusing & repulsive addition and I always enjoy the banter between the various members of the werewolf pack.

Reading currently
Frostbitten by Kelley Armstrong

Started but given up on
Heat Wave by Richard Castle

Planning to read
Carved in Bone by Jefferson Bass
Code Blue by Richard Mabry
Eden Close by Anita Shreve
Every Breath You Take by Judith McNaught
Child of the Northern Spring by Persia Woolley
Crush by Alan Jacobsen

 So we’re 5 weeks into 2011 and I’ve finished 8 books. I don’t expect this pace to continue, but if I did, I’d finish about 83 books!  This isn’t even counting my many favorites that I go back and re-read fairly regularly. This is why Nooks & Kindles are so awesome. I can carry my entire library around with me anywhere.  This will be especially nice when we’re on vacation in a few months. I like to travel light and taking 3 or 4 books would take up too much room!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

