Skip to content

What the Frit?!

September 23, 2011

This is Frit.


Frit is magic stuff that changes the color of glass.  You roll the molten glass in the frit, then melt it into the glass. Then shape it however you see fit.  This is a paperweight I gave to my brother that was 100% done by me. Which is why it’s not perfectly round like the other one. See all those dots and streaks? Each one was a piece of frit that I melted into the glass, then stretched it, pulled it, poked it and shaped it. I finished by gathering clear glass over the frit-infused glass, which is why the frit appears to be inside the glass ball, because it is. Clear as mud?

I have a Gaffer Glass student variety pack and a bunch of small bottles of frit from That Frit Girl. That Frit Girl is awesome for buying small bottles of frit to try a certain color to try without having to buy a whole pound. The down side is that they are small bottles and I will probably only get a couple pieces out of each one. Still, I’m excited to show up at class tomorrow with my new frit in tow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 7:20 pm

    Thank you for your kind words about my frit! I hope that you are enjoying both the frit and your glassblowing class 🙂 I’ve started offering frits in larger containers for anyone needing more of a color – right now it’s mainly the blends, but if there is a color that you use alot of just holler at me!

Leave a Reply

