Skip to content

Hot Blooded – Glassblowing

December 24, 2011

At some point during almost every Glassblowing class, Foreigner’s “Hot Blooded” would come on the radio and it seemed especially appropriate when you’re standing in front of a 2200 degree furnace. My class is now over and while I’m happy to have my Saturdays back, I’m sad that Fresno State isn’t offering the course as a Community Ed course in the Spring. There aren’t any local places for me to practice glassblowing, so when/if I’m able to take another class, my skills will have had a major setback.  On a happier note, I’m totally happy with my progress over the semester and love the pieces I was creating at the end. Which also makes not being able to continue taking classes more frustrating.

Without further ado, here are pictures of the glass pieces I made this semester:


First attempts blown pieces, as opposed to the solid pieces I posted previously. Shot glass for size comparison.


Small jar


Shot glass with beer chaser


Small Vase


Funky vase/bowl thing


Bowl


Another shot glass


Small dishes I’m going to use for jewelry


Blue bowl – This is my favorite piece. I started the semester hoping to be able to make something along these lines so I’m insanely happy with it.


My collection of glass pieces, with the exception of a couple of items that have already been given away.

Joe (the instructor) made each student a Christmas present during the last couple of classes. Here are some pictures of him making a bowl for me and me assisting.

 

That’s it! Glassblowing Fall 2011 is officially over. Hopefully Fresno State offers the class again soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

