Skip to content

Ireland!!

February 22, 2012

This trip was originally planned for last Spring, but life interfered (as it often does) and it was postponed. Now it’s rescheduled for late April into early May!! We’ll be in Ireland for 7 days and have about a day of travel each way. I’m beyond excited!  We leave in 9 weeks.

As soon as this trip was planned, both previously and recently, I had hoped to find out the names of the places that my Irish ancestors came from. I have tracked down 4 ancestors who came from Ireland in the mid 1800’s. There are probably more, but that particular branch of the family tree arrived in the US in the late 1700’s and early 1800’s and records are hit & miss. Records for the 4 ancestors that I know emmigrated from Ireland aren’t the best either since most of them simply state “Ireland” as a place of origin. I had just about given up on locating the county in Ireland that any of them might have lived until last night.

Last night, I discovered that Martha Pugh married Eldon O’Brien. Married women changing their last names is one of the those fun challenges since female relatives tend to disappear around the age of 20 until you figure out who they married. I started tracking down Martha O’Brien and found out that she was buried at Golden Gate National Cemetary in San Bruno, CA because her husband was a veteran of World War I. I also found her mortuary record. Mortuary records sometimes have very little information and other times they are a gold mine. This one wasn’t particuarly informative but it did list the birth place of each of her parents. James Pugh, my 2nd great-grandfather, was born in Galway, Ireland.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the geography of Ireland (myself included), here’s where Galway County is located. Dublin is almost due east on the opposite coastline.

A quick google search turned up these places in Galway County. Just amazing!
Kylemore Abbey:

Clifden Castle:

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 5:10 pm

    Whoa, I love that secpnd photograph! I’ve never been to Ireland, but I hear it is beautiful. Have to plan a trip soon! Thanks for sharing,

    Nate

Leave a Reply

