Skip to content

Ireland Day 4 – Dingle Peninsula

June 29, 2012
tags:

Day 4 – We planned to get up at a halfway decent hour and head around the peninsulas in western Ireland before ending up at our hostel (called the Sleepy Camel) in Glenbeigh. It’s near the town of Killarney. This was a great plan, except that the hostel in Clare had great wifi and I got caught up on the internet. I was up all night and actually woke Jake up around 5am because I was laughing so hard at whatever I was reading.

Jake got up at a decent hour and proceeded with the arduous process of trying to drag my lazy hide out of bed. He brought me toast with jam, which was greatly appreciated. In fact, he broke the rules to bring me that toast! There was a sign that said food was to stay in the kitchen. See? I’m not the only rule-breaker here. Just because my broken rule (disobeying the “No Entry” sign in Galway) might have had more severe consequences than his broken rule (disobeying the “No food outside the kitchen” sign at our hostel), doesn’t change the facts!

Before we could leave town, we had to wait for some traffic.

Our first stop was going to be the Cliffs of Moher. I snoozed a bit here and there, like any great navigator would do. I generally woke up just long enough to look at the map, tell Jake where to go and go back to sleep. I have no idea if I was giving correct directions or if he even listened to those directions. We got to the entrance to the Visitors Centre to find that it was closed. Then it dawned on me. We’d been having 30 mph winds in that area. It’s probably not a good idea to stand on a cliff in 30 mph winds and I know I certainly had no desire to go for a swim in the Atlantic. So you’ll have to settle for a random internet picture of the cliffs.

We passed through some gorgeous countryside on our way to the Dingle Peninsula. The Dingle Peninsula is supposed to be the shorter, less touristy version of the Ring of Kerry. It was amazing and absolutely post card perfect.

Cliffs on the Dingle Peninsula

We also visited various historical sites along the way.This is Dunberg Fort (500 B.C.).

This is a famine cottage. It was a pretty rough life, that’s for sure. What’s also rough is exploring a famine cottage and seeing a little girl sitting on a ledge over a door with a creepy smile on her face. I just about screamed and ran out of the house. I poked my head in the work shed and more creepy mannequins. We decided that the mannequins should move just the slightest bit every few minutes. Just enough to scare you silly or make you wonder if you’re crazy.  Obviously in exchange for this wonderful idea, I expect to be warned of any such pranks. Otherwise, I’d probably scream bloody murder and run down the hill at breakneck speed .

This is the horse we encountered on our walk to the Famine Cottage

How you doin?

Can I live here?

When we were way out on the peninsula, the signs (which had previously been in both Gaelic and English) switched to just Gaelic. Nothing like trying to figure where you are from signs in a different language and a map in English.


When lost in Ireland, I recommend taking pictures of sheep as you drive by.

We eventually made it to the Sleepy Camel and checked in. Yes, I picked that hostel simply because it has a funny name.
Here’s what our route looked like that day. I’m sure we stopped for lunch somewhere but I can’t remember where. This is the problem with trying to write a trip recap 2 months afterwards.

Then I crashed for a few hours while Jake wandered around town taking pictures. I got up around 11pm and we headed to a local take out place that served Indian food, pizza and burgers. We opted for pizza, and then headed back to the hostel. This was also the most modern place we stayed and the first place where we could actually control the temperature of the shower! Jake appreciated this little perk after nearly being boiled to death in Carren.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

