Skip to content

Diabetic Baking – Attempt #1

March 1, 2013
tags:

So I have Gestational Diabetes. I’m also a junk food addict, as is my husband. So this has been quite the adjustment for me, but also long over due. In an attempt to make the best of things, I’ve found some low sugar/low carb dessert recipes to try from Diabetic Living. Today was my first attempt and I have to say it wasn’t bad! But you know, baking is a lot more complicated when it doesn’t involve a box.

I made Sunshine Cupcakes.They are a light, low calorie cupcake frosted with lemon flavored whipped topping. It’s a sweet, yet refreshing dessert for any meal. It’s supposed to make 20 cupcakes when made with Splenda, but I only had enough for 12.
Nutrition Analysis: 71 calories, 2 g protein, 10 g carbohydrate, 1 g total fat

Here’s what they’re supposed to look like:

Here’s what mine look like:


Yes, I nixed the strawberry and lemon peel garnish. That was way too much work for me, and besides the strawberry would have just been additional sugar. It doesn’t take much for me to go over my glucose target, so I cut carbs where I can. The cake is a little dense and the cupcake wrapper sticks to it a little bit. Maybe I needed to beat the eggs longer so they stayed fluffy? Or it could be because I used All-Purpose Flour instead of Cake Flour.  The Lemon Fluff frosting is TO DIE FOR. Seriously, it makes the cupcake. Overall, it’s definitely a yummy recipe that I wouldn’t hesitate to make again. Well, except for maybe the labor-intensive part. Seriously? Sifting the flour and sugar together THREE TIMES?!  Lots of “gently” folding stuff into the egg white mixture, too. Maybe my folding wasn’t gentle enough and that’s why the cake was dense?

Jake says that on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the best dessert ever), he’d give it a 7.  He loves cake and lemon flavored is his favorite. So I figured a cupcake with a lemon topping would be right up his alley. Good thing, because they have to be stored in the fridge and we only had room for 8. I could only eat one as my after dinner snack which means he had the task of eating the other three. He was really broken up about that turn of events.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

