Skip to content

Race Bucket List

May 25, 2013
tags:

3 months since my last post! And boy, has life been interesting. First and foremost, our adorable little girl arrived on April 8th via c-section. She’s 6.5 weeks old and so very cute, although it’s possible I’m slightly biased.

See? Isn’t she just precious?! Although, I admit when she kept us up all night long a few nights ago, I was thinking about selling her to the gypsies. Really though, we can’t complain. She’s a really good sleeper. Anyway, the topic of this post isn’t to gush about the baby, because then I’d be here all day.

On to the topic at hand: Races. Running, Cycling & Triathlons, to be more specific.  See, I’ve done 6 half marathons, a sprint triathlon, a mud run, a splash & dash and a few smaller races. I don’t particularly like exercise and have no real affinity for running, but I do like the finisher’s medals and the fact that it allows me to continue my junk-food habit without needing to purchase a whole new wardrobe. Actually, I really liked my triathlon training, because it was something new everyday but it just takes up an enormous amount of time. My day consisted of work, exercise, eating and sleeping. That’s it. No room for other hobbies. Obviously, I still need to figure out a balance for that.


See my pretty medals?

Anyway, back to the point of this post: Finisher’s medals. I love them. Especially shiny pretty ones! Which is why I’ve decided to enter the lottery for the Nike Women’s Marathon (and half!) in SF in October. Their finisher’s medals are necklaces from Tiffany’s handed out by firefighters in tuxedos.

The selection process is a lottery, so I’ll sign up in early June and keep my fingers crossed and hope I get in. If not, I’ll try again next year. This race is one that I’ve wanted to do for a long time, but it’s never been convenient. It’s still not convenient and actually has gotten LESS convenient, but there’s no time like the present so I may as well give it a shot. Besides, in spite of our best efforts, we haven’t managed to win the Mega Millions lottery, so maybe I’ll be luckier with this one.

Signing up for this race got me thinking (last night at 1am) about the other races I’d like to complete someday. Which FINALLY brings us to the point of this entire post: My Race Bucket List. I decided to put together a list of races that I’d like to complete someday so I can start checking them off. Okay, okay, I admit it. I don’t really care about completing the races, I want the finisher’s medals and there’s only one way to earn them. So without further ado, here’s my race bucket list.

Jen’s Race Bucket List – Disney Edition:
I have two finisher’s medals from the first two Disneyland Half marathons. I’m a total Disney lover and want to have an entire collection of Disney medals, which is quite an undertaking. Disney has added a TON of races over the last few years.

Dumbo Double Dare Challenge – This is a 10k run on Saturday, followed by a half marathon on Sunday. Each event has its own finisher’s medal and for being stupid awesome enough to complete both in one weekend, you get another special medal: DUMBO!

See? Pretty! Technically, I already have two Disneyland medals, but they don’t look like this one. They are the castle medals in the picture. Also, one is from the Inaugural race so it’s all special and says “Inaugural”.

Dopey Challenge – Originally at the Disney World Marathon, you could sign up for the Goofy Race and a Half Challenge. This is where you run a half marathon on Saturday and a Full Marathon on Sunday. I have no desire to run a full marathon. Ever. But I want the medals. And Disney is probably the only brand in the world that could make me get off my duff and run 26.2 miles. So there you have it.

Oh but in 2014, Disney upped the ante. If you tack on the 10k and 5k races to the Goofy Race and a Half, you’ll have the Dopey Challenge! In 4 days, you run 4 timed events and come home with six medals. And some really sore muscles, I imagine. Jake has dubbed this the Dopey Dumbass Challenge. And yes, I will be attempting this someday.

Tinkerbell and Princess Half marathons – These are half marathons run at Disneyland and Disney World, respectively. Both are focused on female runners and lots of people run in costume. Hmm, which Disney princess should I be?

Jen’s Race Bucket List – Non-Disney Races:

Nike Women’s Half Marathon – We’ve already discussed this one. I want the Tiffany’s Necklace. They also have a race in DC. If I don’t get into the SF half this year, I may try for DC next April.

Virginia Beach Rock ‘N Roll Half Marathon – I love the beach. I ran a half marathon in Huntington Beach one year just so I could get a surfboard shaped medal and wouldn’t you know it? That year they changed the medals. It’s round with a surfboard on it. Not nearly as cool. But back to this race, it’s a sand dollar! And so pretty! NEED!

Go Girl Half Marathons – This a series of three half marathons in Missouri – Springfield, Kansas City and Columbia.

I’ll be moving to Springfield soon, so that’s a no brainer. Yellow is my favorite color, so I’ll obviously have to do that too. And if I’m going to do two of the three, may as well get the trio and run in KC too, right?

Dash for Divas Triathlon – In White Lake, NC. It’s a sprint tri, with some very manageable distances – 250m swim, 9 mile bike ride, 2 mile run. Look at the pretty colors!

So there you have it! I’m sure I will run other races besides these and probably add to this list but I think it’s a good start.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

