Skip to content

Something weird is going on.

June 7, 2013
tags:

Something weird is happening to me. I’ve never been a person that uses cutesy nicknames. In fact, if I did happen to utter a cutesy nickname, it was always to emphasize whatever sarcastic comment that accompanied it. It’s just not in my nature to be all sugary sweet. 

Funny story: During the Jake & Jen Early Days, we were leaving a gas station and sitting in the driveway waiting for opening in traffic. Jake was looking left and I was looking right where I spotted a guy on a bicycle. I said “Dear” in an effort to get Jake’s attention and he ignored me. I repeated “Dear…” with a bit more urgency since the bicyclist was quickly approaching. Still nothing. Then “DEAR!” before he finally turned to see what I was getting to excited about.  He heard “Deer” and thought I wanted him to turn and have a look at the elusive Fresno Deer whose native habitat includes the urban areas surrounding the Fresno airport. Of course, having seen deer on numerous previous occasions, he was more concerned with traffic. Finally, at the last “Deer!” he turned and saw the bicyclist and responded with “OH! Where I come from, we call those “cyclists” not deer.”  So now, we refer to all cyclists as deer. Our poor daughter is doomed to grow up speaking some weird Jake & Jen language that vaguely resembles English but is not at all decipherable to normal people.

Anyway, back on topic. I’ll try to keep the tangents to a minimum. I don’t use cutesy nicknames. My family is big on nicknames in general, but they are never Sweetie Pie or Honey Bear. We each had a number of nicknames growing up and my dad is king of bestowing them on people. My brother’s friends included Wide Open for his buddy who was riding a mini bike when the throttle got stuck wide open and had to be chased down and White Chevelle for the friend that drove a (you guessed it!) white chevelle. My sister is still sometimes known as Brat. I dubbed my brother Bozo for reasons I can’t even remember. I was named Black Eyed Jen due to my tendency to acquire those such injuries, usually by running into things. Eventually I started watching where I was going. It’s a good thing we are all equipped with the Martinez Cement Head. It has served us well. My brother took a ATV tire to his face and suffered no injuries. In fact, the only evidence were the tread marks up his face. I was in a low-speed accident a few years ago, which is known as the time Jen played Chicken with a semi. I do not recommend this, by the way. My pickup definitely lost that battle.  My airbag did not deploy and so I banged my forehead on the steering wheel. I had a big goosehead, right smack in the middle of my head but that’s it. I did not lose consciousness, and distinctly remember the aforementioned head-smacking. Not even a black eye! I was told that should inspect the steering wheel for dents. The poor thing never had a chance. This incident was a classic “Law of Lug Nuts” situation. He with the most lug nuts wins and that was definitely not me.

Oops…I went on a tangent again, didn’t I?  So, we’ve covered that I only use them in a sarcastic context and am not a sugary sweet person. I’m slightly horrified to admit that in the last couple of months, I have found myself routinely using sugary sweet, cutesy nicknames. They are all in reference to Annabelle, who is just so precious that she brings out the sugary-sweet in me.  I was shocked to learn that it was even there in the first place! I’ve been known to call her Sweetie, Sweetheart, Sweetie Pie, Sweetie-kins, Baby-kins and Babyface. Seriously, Sweetie-kins?! I have no shame.


But look at this face!!

This is one of my favorite pictures. It totally makes me grin every time I see it.

Lest you think we are going to traumatize her with my newfound, over the top, sugary side, we do have a number of more normal nicknames in mind. In fact, that’s one of the reasons we both liked the name Annabelle, so many nickname possibilities! I’ve been calling her Anna Banana, which I’m sure will get shorted to just Anna when she gets old enough to protest. Jake calls her Ann, which is not my favorite. Other possibilities include Belle and AJ for Annabelle Juliet.


It will be interesting to see which name she prefers. As a kid, I hated the name Jennifer. Everyone called me Jenny and I would get so upset if someone dared to call me Jennifer. Now, I go by Jen pretty much everywhere. When I was in high school, I got tired of writing out Jennifer Martinez on everything, it was WAY too long and I was way too lazy. So I shortened it to Jen M, which the teachers didn’t seem to appreciate. It’s not like they had 6 classes of 30+ students to keep straight! I’m sure Jen M. was the only information that was needed! At any rate, Jen Martinez seemed to go over fine and so I just ran with it. From then on, it was Jen Martinez on everything except important things like resumes, diplomas, etc. I will still glare at friends & family that call me Jennifer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Thomas permalink
    June 9, 2013 5:43 pm

    You always make me laugh. I love the photo of Anna in the little brown dress. She’s just adorable!! ❤

  2. gRANDMA permalink
    June 11, 2013 12:53 am

    I loved reading this….seems I know you better having read it…

    annabelle is a doll..I looked you up to tell you I needed more pics and here they are,,,I bet she will be Annie…

    Carol

Trackbacks

  1. Jen drove a dump truck. And then made bread. | Kicking Dandelions

Leave a Reply

