Skip to content

In search of Kale

January 30, 2014

So it’s a new year! Time for resolutions! Except that I hate resolutions so I never set any. Instead, I try to set goals, which is kind of the same but if I don’t hit it exactly, it’s not the end of the world, you know? If I want to lose 10 lbs and only lose 9, well that’s still a victory. Not that my goal is to lose 10 lbs. Although that would be nice too.

One of my goals for the year is for Jake & I to eat healthier. If you compare what most experts agree constitutes a healthy diet and what our diet consists of, there are some pretty big discrepancies.  The biggest gap is in the plant based food categories (fruits and veggies). We eat way more meat, starches and dairy. And actually, I don’t eat a ton of meat and I’m somewhat lactose intolerant. So my diet is even less rounded. It’s actually pretty flat. CARBS!! Mmm…carbs. They’re my friends.  We also don’t eat much (or any) fish, and are pretty well stuck in a rut of our typical, familiar ingredients.

With that in mind, I came up with an idea and Jake is a total saint for going along with it. We’re going to spend 2014 experimenting with lots of different foods we would normally never consider or try. The bulk of the experiments will be on finding non-meat protein sources. Those of you who follow me on Pinterest have probably been fairly confused all vegetarian recipes I’ve been pinning lately, but given our lack of vegetables right now, I’d like to see us move to 3-4 days a week of no meat. For our purposes here, our meatless days may include fish. I understand that fish isn’t vegetarian but our goal is healthier, more rounded eating and fish should be a part of that. I’m also hoping that this will help us move away from relying so much on various processed food.

As if all of that wasn’t enough, Jake got a juicer for Christmas because he’s wanted to try juicing as a new way to up his vegetable intake. He’s been having fun conducting some of his own experiments and most of it is pretty good!

Here’s a blurry picture of a lemony-tasting concoction. Why is it blurry? because I have the worst smart phone EVER.

Our first experiment was about a week ago. It was Cashew Crusted Salmon which wasn’t bad. We tried it because salmon was on sale and we have a tub of cashews from Walmart that aren’t very good. So using them in a crust seemed like a good alternative. It was pretty good! Jake thinks he’d prefer it on a different fish, so we tried it on Tilapia and it was pretty good! Yay! Fish! Also attempted was Quinoa, Chicken & Kale soup. Except that the store didn’t have kale. This is the second week in a row that they were sold out of kale at our local grocery store. Seriously, who’s taking all the kale?!? I did a bit of googling while standing in the produce department and decided that mustard greens would be an okay substitute.  In addition to the lack of kale, the quinoa that was advertised as on sale was also sold out, which is pretty irritating. I had to buy a box that was $2 more. It may not seem like much, but saving money on groceries is a game of pennies and that’s a lot of pennies!! I saved $15.60 combining Target’s Cartwheel with manufacturer coupons for Tide last week. SCORE!! Lots of pennies saved and now we’re good on laundry detergent for a few months.

Back to the Quinoa, Chicken & Kale Mustard Greens. It wasn’t great, and then I bit into something was super super bitter and that was the end of that for me. Actually, we saved it for leftovers but when it was being taken from the fridge to be heated it, it was dropped on the floor. So did what anyone would do. Cleaned up the mess, and went to Steak ‘N Shake.

Our fridge is packed FULL of green stuff. We spend so much time in the produce department. We’ve also got tofu (firm, extra firm and smoked), meatless crumbles, quinoa, and couscous. I look in our fridge and wonder if I’m in the correct house.  There’s way too much green.


Seriously, who lives here?!


And since I showed you our fridge, how about the freezer? See, there’s those meatless crumbles. I have no clue what I’m going to do with them. Also, the blue ball in the center? It’s a Death Star ice cube mold. The ice spheres on the bottom? That’s our death star collection. I’m sure that by posting this, we’ll have the CIA, NSA, and all sorts of letters breaking down the door in the name of national security. After all, we’re making DEATH STARS! Jake has made two perfect death stars and a handful of not-so-perfect ones. They’re all just there, waiting to blow up a planet, or possibly cool down a drink. It’s good to be versatile.

Now, here’s the really genius part. Jake has discovered the mold can be used to make CHOCOLATE Death Stars!

The contents of my lunch pail on the day the above picture was taken was a greek yogurt, granola to mix in the yogurt, salad (bagged salad mix, grape tomatoes, cheese and dressing) and a chocolate death star. Salad for lunch is really kind of a let down. I need to figure out a way to add some protein. I’m thinking beans.

How about some pictures of Annabelle? Here she is riding in her stroller without the infant carrier for the first time!

Doesn’t she look SO grown up?! My little baby!


She’s gonna get ya!


Bye! Talk to you later!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carolyn Thomas permalink
    January 30, 2014 2:56 am

    Fun to read ! Good luck to you guys on your efforts 🙂 when I saw annabelles picture before, I didnt even put two and two together about being in the stroller without the car seat! She just looks just right! Love her little wave

Leave a Reply

