Skip to content

Baby Boy turned 1 and I ran a 5k!

October 9, 2015

I thought I posted this already and was actually coming here to post my race report from my 5k last weekend and discovered that I did not actually post this. So here is Grayson’s birthday post AND my race report. It’s two posts in one! It’s like BOGO!

Grayson’s Birthday:

Grayson turned 1 year on Sept 28th! I can’t believe it’s been a year. I swear it was just a few weeks ago. We celebrated with presents and birthday cake at the farm. There were lots of pictures taken, but this one is my favorite.

Isn’t he adorable?! He looks so much like my brother, who is less adorable. Don’t tell him I said that. Oh wait, he reads this blog. Hmm. Moving on.

I love the chubby cheeks stuffed full of cake. This was his first taste of cake and he appears to be a fan, as evidenced by the plate of crumbs. I also adore the fistful of cake that’s he got ready to go as soon as he’s done with his current bite. He doesn’t tolerate waiting for his next mouthful very well. He’s rather impatient about it, actually. Look at all that hair! I think he’s got a haircut in his near future.

He still doesn’t have any teeth (but we can see some under his gums!) and isn’t walking yet. We’re not in any hurry for that latter. It’s hectic enough trying to keep up with Annabelle. Two is going to be nuts.

Panther Run 5k Race Report – The Good, The Bad & the Good Looking
Time: 36:40.62
Pace: 11:50 min/mile

Well, after a 5 year hiatus, I finally did another race. This was just a short 5k, which is a far cry from the half marathons (and one triathlon) I was doing many moons ago. Anyway, the race went well! I was slower than heck (with strollers passing me…) but I finished! My pace was about where I’d expected it to be, based on my training runs and it felt pretty good

The Good: It’s a well organized race that benefits a good cause, and even better, the starting line is 2 blocks from my house. I walked to the starting line 10 minutes before the race started. I decided that could be my warm up. Then walked home afterwards. It’s hard to beat that. I think some people had to walk farther than I did just to find a parking spot. Oh! And they gave away finisher’s medals!! You know I love the finisher’s medals.


The Bad: I can’t really think of anything that I’d call bad. No! Wait! I’ve got it! It was freakin’ cold. Jake and the kids came to watch and we had them bundled up like it was snowing outside. Which wasn’t too far off, I think with the wind chill, it was like 38. Note to self: Buy running gloves to keep your fingers from getting frostbite. I reminded me of that triathlon in Tahoe where they kept telling us the water temp was 51 degrees. They didn’t tell us the air temp on that beach but the water was warmer than the air temp. This explains why I was pretty sure my feet were turning blue…BECAUSE THEY WERE.

The Good Looking: Brad Pitt’s brother was the host for the award ceremony and there is definitely a family resemblance! I would have preferred it if he’d given me one of the kayaks, or bicycles, or even a gift card but sadly, he did not. Oh well, if I’m going to spend an hour and a half watching a raffle only to not win anything, having a good looking host is really the least they can do.

Overall, it was a good day and a good race and I’ve got two more in my sights for November. I suppose I should get back to training then.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

